top of page

The Order of Thompson 2016

Nick DiVirgilio

Tom O'Brien.jpg

The Order of Thompson 2017

Tom O'Brien

Sya Gregovski.jpg

The Order of Thompson 2018

Sya Gregovski

"The Order of Thompson", modelled after the well known "Order of Canada" is presented to a recipient recognized as an outstanding citizen who has created a legacy within the community. The "Order of Thompson" is awarded each year during the Thompson Community Foundation Fall Gala.

If you would like to nominate someone for this prestigious award, please contact the Thompson Community Office at 204-281-3110 or e-mail

Past Recipients of The Order of Thompson

Fred Palmer 2019

Sya Gregovski 2018

Tom O'Brien 2017

Nick Di Virgilio 2016

John Donovan 2015

Ted Smook 2014

Adrian DeGroot 2013

Red Sangster 2012

Gail and Arnold Morberg 2011

Volker Beckmann 2010




The Order of Thompson is based on the Criteria as follows:

Long term citizen

Must make significant contribution in multiple areas

Supporter of Thompson

Contributions over significant time frame

1. Philanthropy

2. Business – entrepreneurial activity, including the establishment and successful operation of a business

3. Recreation

4. Volunteerism – voluntary activities and dedication that benefit the immediate and global community

5. Community Spirit

6. Ambassadorship

7. Professional – for pursuit of a specific profession and advancement of that profession.

8. Public Affairs – public service in areas such as social advocacy, environmental protection, international affairs, political action or organized labour.

Outstanding skills in areas of leadership, service and community commitment.

The Order of Thompson candidates are nominated by the Order of Thompson Selection Committee, and the successful recipient is selected via vote.

Order of Thompson Selection committee

Past-President of TCF

Vice-President of TCF



Manitoba Hydro

General manger Vale Manitoba Operations

Grand Chief M.K.O.


bottom of page